VU Diversity & Inclusion

VU Diversity & Inclusion

VU Diversity & Inclusion:
  • Viterbo University believes that diversity is central to the educational and developmental experience of all learners. Our campus community strives to be inclusive by recognizing and valuing opportunities to integrate dimensions of diversity in broadening our interpretation and understanding of humanity. The mission of the Viterbo University Diversity Committee is to foster a welcoming learning environment for students, faculty, and staff who bring varied human characteristics, backgrounds, interests, and perspectives that serve to enrich the Viterbo community. Respect, support, acceptance, and advocacy are pillars that undergrid our mission.
Definition of Diversity:
  • At Viterbo University, diversity is best embodied through the Franciscan values of hospitality and respect for human dignity. Therefore we see diversity as including but not limited to age, culture, ethnicity, gender, learning style, mental health, physical abilities, race, religious beliefs, sexual orientation, and socioeconomic status.
Diversity Committee & Student Club:
  • The diversity committee is comprised of faculty, administrators, and employees. The student club reports out (as a sub-committee) to support diversity on the Viterbo campus from a strong student perspective.

Diversity Committee Members:

  • Heather Butterfield
  • Amanda Schmidt
  • Taylor Corbett
  • Justice Carson
  • Kirsten Gabriel
  • Jacob Hart
  • Marlene Fisher
  • Matthew Campbell
  • Apryl Denny
  • Kristin Roslansky
  • Michelle Pinzl (chair)
  • Stephanie Thorson-Olesen

Breaking Barriers Diversity Club (sub-committee) - Executive Leaders for 2018-2019

  • President – Steven Sam
  • Vice President – Theo Braman
  • Treasurer – Samantha Reilly
  • Secretary – Megan Stankowski
  • Advisors – Stephanie Thorson-Olesen (Psychology) & Justice Lawson (Admissions)